Monday, November 26, 2012

The Zodiac

The Ecliptic
    Ah, the Zodiac.  A prominent part of astrology, the zodiac is a set of 12 equal divisions along the ecliptic, or path the Sun passes along as the months pass (red line in the diagram to the right).  Each division is associated with a different constellation, even though the constellations vary in size. 

    In order, starting at 0°, the signs are:
    Ares ♈, Taurus ♉, Gemini  ♊, Cancer , Leo ♌, Virgo ♍, Libra ♎, Scorpio ♏, Sagittarius ♐, Capricorn ♑, Aquarius ♒ and Pisces ♓.

     Fun fact:  The divisions are set up such that the spring equinox occurs when the sun enters the sign of Ares.  This is great, until you take into account the precession of the equinoxes, which is slowly moving the signs (the sign Ares is now in the constellation Pisces). 

No comments:

Post a Comment